I am a leader and I am not a fraud

How many times have you looked out at your staff and felt like a fraud? That you really don’t deserve that award or praise? Or that you are a fake and one day these people are going to find out?

I feel that way a lot of times. There is even a name for it, “impostor syndrome,” which is shared by the most successful women (and some men). There are lots of articles with solutions like this one here, here, and here. I think the best way is to write and say a manifesto aloud. So I’m going with Alexandra Franzen‘s life script below.

She has these awesome scripts to help her readers easily fill in the blank and ultimately makes them look internally.

My name is Mai Vang.

I’m a Curator, leader, and writer.

Ultimately, all of my work is about helping people experience the amazing world around them because no one should ever lose that sense of wonder that makes us better people.

That is what I do.

And I am not confused.

3 thoughts on “I am a leader and I am not a fraud

  1. “I do not believe in using women in combat, because females are too fierce.” -Margaret Mead

    It’s unfortunate that women are feeling like “imposters”, even today. I believe Mead is correct on some level, because I see them in my past jobs. I believe my favorite bosses and majority of them are in fact women. And I hope the statement isn’t hallow just because I’m ‘gay’. But I’ve actually learned a lot from these females, even when they made mistakes. Carrying on with poise, even if they knew they were wrong. They did it much better than my male bosses, they were just terrible and it ultimately affected their business.

    But what about articles of employees striving to be leaders themselves with the same dilemma of “imposter syndrome”? Does age play into the stress besides sex & gender?

  2. All of us have to be imposters in the beginning because without doing so, few people will invest in us. No one wants to give to something that is dying or something that doesn’t elevate their own status. The ones with real talent are the ones who remain and grow out of the imposter stage.

Leave a Reply

